Executive Officers

Michelle Porter, President

Michelle Porter is a Métis writer who has called Newfoundland and Labrador home for almost ten years now. She is the incoming managing editor with The Independent. She is also teaching journalism and doing research part-time. She holds a BA in Journalism and Communications, an MA in Folklore, and a PhD in Geography. She was selected for the longlist for the 2016 and the 2017 CBC Poetry Prize. She was a winner for the 2017 Arts and Letters Award, Senior Poetry category. This year, she won funding from Arts NL to create a poetry manuscript about the mobile, overlapping, historical and contemporary meanings of Métis home.


Glenn Deir, Vice President

Glenn Deir is a former CBC television reporter. He used over three decades worth of journalistic black humour to write his novel The Money Shot, published by Breakwater Books in fall 2016. His memoir, Sick Joke: Cancer, Japan and Back Again, was shortlisted for a NL Book Award in 2011.

Glenn Deir

Amanda Labonte,Treasurer

Amanda Labonté divides her time between writing and co-running a thriving business. Her young adult novel, Call of the Sea, was published in November 2015 with a sequel planned for April 2018 by Engen Books. Amanda lives in St. John’s with her husband and their two continuously growing children.


Kelley Power, Secretary

Kelley Power has punched a dozen years in corporate communications both abroad and in Newfoundland and Labrador. She currently splits her time between communications consulting and dabbling in all types of writing. Her work has won the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts and Letters competition and has been published in wordhaus eZine. 


Terry Doyle, St. John’s/Avalon Representative 

Terry Doyle is writer from the Goulds. He is currently working on his first novel, for which he won the 2017 Percy Janes First Novel Award. He studies fiction writing at Memorial University and is a member of The Naked Parade writer’s group.


Andrew Peacock, St. John’s/Avalon Representative

Andrew Peacock worked as a veterinarian in Newfoundland from 1982 to 2010. His memoir, “Creatures of the Rock” was released by Doubleday Canada in 2014, long listed for the Leacock medal and won the 2014 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for non-fiction. As well as writing with the Saltwater Writers’ Circle, Andrew is involved with photography, running, bicycling and the outdoors. 


Gary Collins, Central/Burin Representative

Gary’s writing career began when he was asked to write eulogies for deceased friends and family. Now a critically acclaimed author, he has written eleven books, including the children’s illustrated book What Colour is the Ocean?, which he co-wrote with his granddaughter, Maggie Rose Parsons. That book won an Atlantic Book Award: The Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration. His book Mattie Mitchell: Newfoundland’s Greatest Frontiersman has been adapted for film.


Mervyn Dean, Western/Labrador Representative

Mervyn Dean is a Newfoundlander by descent, a Boeing 767 having descended from 39,000 feet to deposit him in St. John’s. Besides having written the obligatory academic papers he has also written various supposedly humorous articles.  He is now trying writing his second novel, because the first one didn’t work out and had to be put aside until inspiration strikes.  Mervyn lives in Corner Brook with his wife and 12 year-old mutt.


Beth Ryan, Member-at-Large

Beth Ryan’s collection of short fiction, What is Invisible, won the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award in 2004 and was shortlisted for two other awards. Her stories have been published in anthologies and literary journals and have won awards from the Cuffer Short Fiction Competition, the Arts and Letters Competition, The Victoria School of Writing and the Atlantic Writing Competition. Beth works in counselling and post-secondary education and is currently writing her first novel.


Philip Patey, Member-at-Large

Philip Patey spends most of his time writing when he is not tending perennial flowers and volunteering with several community and provincial organizations. He has read his poetry at the Eric’s Time venue of the March Hare, is a member of Scribblers’ Ink; a Gander-based writers’ group, and has served on the WANL Board as the Central/Burin representative for several years.



Ellen Curtis, Youth Liasion

Ellen Curtis was born and raised in St. John’s, Newfoundland. In 2008 she published her first collection of short stories with Engen Books. Since then, she has gone on to co-author the Infinity series with Matthew LeDrew, and has joined the company as partner, spearheading the From the Rock anthology series. In 2015, Ellen earned her Bachelor of Arts from Memorial University. Ellen is currently working on her fourth novel.



Denise Flint, Past President

Denise Flint is a freelance journalist living in St. Philips with her husband, a house full of animals and books, and a wonderful view of the ocean. She believes in the healing powers of good grammar and good wine. Those are the facts. Everything else is subject to change without notice.


Denise Flint