WANL: Board of directors

WANL Board of directors 2013-14


Chad Pelley, President
Chad Pelley's fiction has been recognized by more than ten awards. He is also a songwriter and photographer. His debut novel, Away from Everywhere, was a Coles bestseller, and a film adaptation of the novel is underway. His second novel, Every Little Thing, was released in March of 2013. Most recently, he founded and arts and culture newspaper, The Overcast, to celebrate the artists and entrepreneurs of our province.

Annamarie Beckel, Vice-President
Annamarie Beckel worked as a science writer at the University of Wisconsin from 1980-1990 and then as a writer, photographer, and newsletter editor on the Lac du Flambeau Ojibwe reserve until 2004 when she moved to St. John's. Her books include: Silence of Stone, Dancing in the Palm of His Hand, and All Gone Widdun, which won the 1999 Book Achievement Award, first place fiction, from the Midwest Independent Publishers Assocation. Annamarie lives in St. John's and is working on her fourth novel.

Michele Bowes, Treasurer
Michele Bowes holds a BA and a BEd. In addition to working as a teacher, she has been a secretary, bookkeeper, and she has worked in advertising. Michele was treasurer on a housing co-operative board of directors. She knows Roberts Rules as well as anyone can without falling asleep. Michele's employment and freelance experience includes print journalism, advertising copy, research and editorial work. She has published short works of fiction and non-fiction. She is in the process of endlessly rewriting her two precious novels. She has five procreative accomplishments to embellish her resume of creative work. Michele considers her latest island residence an adventure.

Karen Lundy, Secretary
Karen Lundy, after raising her children, fulfilled a lifelong dream by returning to her education and completing a BA in History. Her studies have provided fodder for her writing. The Nashwaak Review has published her short story, "Time Signature." Born and raised in Toronto, she has made Newfoundland her home for 32 years, living in outport communities and St. John's and has family ties to Port Rexton. When not working on her novel-in-progress, she enjoys volunteer work, learning to play piano, and relaxing at her cabin.


Robin Durnford, Acting Western/Labrador Representative
Robin Durnford has published two books of poetry, A Lovely Gutting, and Fog out of the Outport. She currently lives on the west coast of the island where she teaches on and off in the English Programme at Memorial University's Grenfell Campus.

Philip Patey, Central/Burin Representative
Philip Patey spends most of his time writing when he is not tending perennial flowers and volunteering with several community and provincial organizations. He has read his poetry at the Eric’s Time venue of the March Hare, is a member of Scribblers’ Ink, a Ganderbased writers, group and has served on the WANL board as the Central/Burin representative for several years.

Bruce Lilly, St. John's/Avalon Representative
Bruce Lilly is the founder of Altus Editing International Ltd. (2011), a business that connects worldwide writing and editing projects to Canadian language service professionals. He has edited for numerous Newfoundland publishing entities, including The Newfoundland Quarterly, the Muse, Breakwater Books, and Flanker Press, and served as a corporate consultant for OceansAdvance. He is a founding member of the Editors' Association of Canada Newfoundland twig and currently works at Acoustic Zoom Inc., a marine technology company, where he assists in contract and intellectual property management. He received his English BA and a diploma of Professional Writing from MUN and lives in Paradise.

Emily Deming, St. John's/Avalon Representative
Emily Deming is new to the Writers' Alliance board. She is on the WORD committee and the Reading Room committee. This last committee is appropriate as she comes to WANL more as a reader than as a writer. Outside of WANL, she is the volunteer coordinator for the John Howard Society's library at Her Majesty's Penitentiary. She moved to St. John's in 2010 as a geophysicist, promptly retired from the oil industry, and now spends her time on books, dinner parties, and pond swims.

Sharon Smith, Member-at-Large
Sharon Smith has been slinging the ink for 40 years. She started writing for television in the late 70s with the CBC series "Up At Ours" and has gone on to write, direct and produce for film and television ever since, both in St. John’s and across Canada. She was on the board of directors of NIFCO for a number of years and is a past-president of the Producers Association of Newfoundland and Labrador. Sharon has written her first novel but, by no means, her last.

Andrew Bragg, Member-at-Large
Andrew Bragg recently repatriated to his hometown of St. John's after a decade "on the mainland." Upon his return he founded the Newfoundland Writers' Group based in the city. He studied History at MUN and Creative Writing/Screenwriting in Alberta. When he is not working in the information technology sector he is working on his first book of short stories and a novel. He lives in the west end of town with his wife and keeps irregular hours and oversized dogs.

Dana Evely, Member-at-Large
Dana Evely is a poet, writer, and editor from St. John's. Her poetry has appeared in Paragon, Riddle Fence, The Newfoundland Quarterly, and has received the Gregory J. Power Award (2011 and 2012) and the Newfoundland Arts and Letters Award (2011). Her short fiction has appeared in The Cuffer Anthology Vol. 3. In 2012, as the managing editor of Paragon Press, she edited and released the fifth volume of Paragon, Memorial University's annual collection of poetry and prose. In 2013 she received the Cox & Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award. She is currently an editor with Riddle Fence.
WANL staff

Executive Director:
Alison Dyer

Executive Assistant:
Sheri Coombs
The Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador gratefully acknowledges the financial support of
the Canada Council for the Arts, the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, and the City of St. John's.