WANL Weekly

All our news in your inbox - every week!

What’s Happening at WANL



              2014 Heritage and History Book Awards and WANL Holiday Party

WANL will be hosting the 2014 Heritage & History Book Awards at their annual Holiday party.

There will be brief readings by the shortlisted authors followed by an awards presentation to the winners for Fiction and Children's/Young Adult literature.


Congratulations to the Shortlist!



The Strangers' Gallery, Paul Bowdring (Nimbus Publishing)
Finton Moon, Gerard Collins (Creative Books)
Say Nothing Saw Wood, Joel Thomas Hynes (Running the Goat Books & Broadsides)

Children’s/YA Literature

Saltwater Joys, Wayne Chaulk (Flanker Press). Illustration, Dawn Baker
The Wonderful Dogfish Racket, Tom Dawe (Flanker Press). Illustration, C. Anne MacLeod
Almost Home: The Sinking of the SS Caribou, Jennifer Morgan (Breakwater Books)

The awards will precede the WANL holiday party.

All are welcome. Admission is free.

When: Tuesday, December 9, 7 PM
The Ship Pub


The 2014 Heritage and History Book Awards are sponsored by the Historic Sites Association and co-presented with WANL. The 2014 Heritage & History Book Awards Ceremony will take place at the WANL annual Holiday party.

The Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador, or HSA, is a volunteer, non-profit organization with a mandate to present the province’s history and heritage.

In 2004 the HSA established a two-part award for excellence in the use of Newfoundland and Labrador history in the creation of a writer’s work. The HSA is proud to support the work of writers in this province through the Heritage and History award.



Our Member's Directory page is now live!


On our Member's Directory page you will be able to include

(1) a small jpeg photo
(2) a 300-word bio
(3) your name
(4) location (city/town)

If you are interested, please respond to wanlassist@nf.aibn.com with the above information.


Once your information is received, it will be placed on the Member's Directory page and you will subsequently be sent a password
and log in instructions with details on how to access and edit your information.

Once you have received your member-specific password and log-in instructions, you will be able to log in to change the password
to something easier to remember and change your username.

Should any new information arise, such as new e-mail address, location, etc, you will be able to access your information to update it as need be.

For those of you who have already submitted information, please look out for an e-mail with log in details and instructions sent to your inbox next week.


NOW OPEN 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards



Call for Submissions

The Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards honour excellence in writing. These juried awards cover a two-calendar-year publishing period, with pairings of Fiction and Children’s/Young Adult Literature awarded in even years, and Poetry and Nonfiction awarded in alternate years. Winners are announced in the spring. The winners receive a cash prize of $1,500; each runners-up receive $500. The E.J. Pratt Poetry Award and the Nonfiction Award will be given in 2015.



1. The awards are open only to residents of Newfoundland and Labrador.
2. To meet the residency requirements, the author must have lived in Newfoundland and Labrador for at least 36 months of the last 5 years. The residency period for the 2015 awards is the five calendar years 2010-2014.

Click here for details on How to Apply.



NOW OPEN 2015 WANL Emerging Writers Mentorship Program


Call for Applications              

The Writers’ Alliance invites applications from individuals interested in the 2015 Emerging Writers Mentorship Program. Applicants to both the mentor and apprentice positions are being sought. The apprentice position is designed for writers who have a substantial work-in-progress and who are committed to the creative development of their writing. The mentor position is designed for writers with a history of publication and a commitment to the craft of writing. Each apprentice will be matched with a mentor to work on a one-to-one basis over an intensive five-month period beginning in March 2015, pending funding.


Who can apply as an apprentice?

WANL members in good standing with a substantial work-in-progress in any genre;
Individuals prepared for a disciplined, focused period of work during which writing is a priority;
Individuals who did not participate in this program in 2014.

Who can apply as a mentor?

WANL members in good standing who are working in any genre;
Individuals who have a significant publication history and some mentorship or teaching experience;
Individuals who did not participate in this program in 2014.

Mentors are expected to contribute 25 hours to in-person conferencing (where possible) and 25 hours to reading/prep work, or some combination thereof, to this program. Remuneration will be $2,000, funding pending, to be paid in two instalments: half at the commencement of the mentorship; half at its completion. The program is provided at no cost to apprentices.

Click here for details on How to Apply.




On October 26, WANL held its AGM, electing the following Board of Directors:

President: Denise Flint
VP: Chad Pelley
Secretary: Paul Whittle
Treasurer: Emily Deming

Member at Large: Lynette Adams
Member at Large: William Pryce-Phillips
Member at large: Andrew Bragg
Avalon Rep: Glenn Deir
Avalon Rep: Michelle Porter
Wester Rep: Robin Durnford
Central Rep: Philip Patey
Youth Liaison: Aley Waterman

WANL also proudly presented two awards. The Lifetime Membership Award was presented to Anne Hart for her outstanding contribution to the literature of Newfoundland and Labrador, and Annamarie Beckel received the Volunteer of the Year Award.



WANL received the Best of St. John's 2014 Award for Best Opportunity for Emerging Writers for our Mentorship Program!


If you would like more information on how to qualify for the WANL Mentorship Program, please see Mentorship Program.