WANL Weekly

All our news in your inbox - every week!

What’s Happening at WANL



NOW OPEN 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards


Call for Submissions

The Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards honour excellence in writing. These juried awards cover a two-calendar-year publishing period, with pairings of Fiction and Children’s/Young Adult Literature awarded in even years, and Poetry and Non-fiction awarded in alternate years. Winners are announced in the spring. The winners receive a cash prize of $1,500; each runners-up receive $500. Awards for Poetry and for Non-fiction will be given in 2015.



1. The awards are open only to residents of Newfoundland and Labrador.
2. To meet the residency requirements, the author must have lived in Newfoundland and Labrador for at least 36 months of the last 5 years. The residency period for the 2015 awards is the five calendar years 2010-2014.

Click here for details on How to Apply.



NOW OPEN 2015 WANL Emerging Writers Mentorship Program


Call for Applications              

The Writers’ Alliance invites applications from individuals interested in the 2015 Emerging Writers Mentorship Program. Applicants to both the mentor and apprentice positions are being sought. The apprentice position is designed for writers who have a substantial work-in-progress and who are committed to the creative development of their writing. The mentor position is designed for writers with a history of publication and a commitment to the craft of writing. Each apprentice will be matched with a mentor to work on a one-to-one basis over an intensive five-month period beginning in March 2015, pending funding.


Who can apply as an apprentice?

WANL members in good standing with a substantial work-in-progress in any genre;
Individuals prepared for a disciplined, focused period of work during which writing is a priority;
Individuals who did not participate in this program in 2014.

Who can apply as a mentor?

WANL members in good standing who are working in any genre;
Individuals who have a significant publication history and some mentorship or teaching experience;
Individuals who did not participate in this program in 2014.

Mentors are expected to contribute 25 hours to in-person conferencing (where possible) and 25 hours to reading/prep work, or some combination thereof, to this program. Remuneration will be $2,000, funding pending, to be paid in two instalments: half at the commencement of the mentorship; half at its completion. The program is provided at no cost to apprentices.

Click here for details on How to Apply.




On October 26, WANL held its AGM, electing the following Board of Directors:

President: Denise Flint
VP: Chad Pelley
Secretary: Paul Whittle
Treasurer: Emily Deming

Member at Large: Lynette Adams
Member at Large: William Pryce-Phillips
Member at large: Andrew Bragg
Avalon Rep: Glenn Deir
Avalon Rep: Michelle Porter
Wester Rep: Robin Durnford
Central Rep: Philip Patey
Youth Liaison: Aley Waterman

WANL also proudly presented two awards. The Lifetime Membership Award was presented to Anne Hart for her outstanding contribution to the literature of Newfoundland and Labrador, and Annamarie Beckel received the Volunteer of the Year Award.



WANL received the Best of St. John's 2014 Award for Best Opportunity for Emerging Writers for our Mentorship Program!


If you would like more information on how to qualify for the WANL Mentorship Program, please see Mentorship Program.