2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards Readings

Join us for readings to celebrate the 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards!

The Non-Fiction finalists will read:

Alan Doyle for Where I Belong: From Small Town to Great Big Sea (Doubleday Canada)

Janet Merlo for No One To Tell: Breaking My Silence on Life in the RCMP (Breakwater Books)

Andrew Peacock for Creatures of the Rock (Doubleday Canada)

When: Tuesday, May 19, 8 PM
Where: The Ship Pub, Duckworth St, St. John’s


The E.J. Pratt Poetry Award finalists will read:

Michael Crummey for Under the Keel (House of Anansi)

Mary Dalton for Hooking (Véhicule Press)

Carmelita McGrath for Escape Velocity (Goose Lane Editions)

When: Tuesday, May 26, 8 PM
Where: The Ship Pub, Duckworth St, St. John’s

Please come out in support of this great Newfoundland and Labrador literary event.


The winners will be announced at a ceremony on May 27th at Government House.

Winning authors each receive a cash prize: $1,500 for first place; each of the other shortlisted authors will receive $500.

We would like to thank our sponsors:

The Jimmy Pratt Foundation
The Telegram
Perfect Day
Newfoundland Teacher’s Association

The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards are presented by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador under the distinguished patronage of The Honourable Frank Fagan, CM, ONL, MBA, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. Only books written by residents of Newfoundland and Labrador (living in the province three of the past five years) are eligible for the award.