Skip to Content

2015 Newfoundland and Labrador NLCU Fresh Fish Award Shortlist

Congratulations to the finalists of the 2015 NLCU Fresh Fish Award!

Sharon Bala (St. John’s)

for her novel, The Boat People

Eva Crocker (St. John’s)

for her short story collection, Barreling Forward and Other Stories

Susie Taylor (Harbour Grace)

for her novel, Dispelling the Myths

Their work was chosen from submissions of fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction.

The 2015 nominees will read from their short-listed works at Christina Parker Gallery in St. John’s, on Monday, November 9, at 7 PM.

The winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at Government House on Tuesday, November 10, and will receive a cash prize of $5,000 and $1,000 towards professional editing services. Runners-up each receive $1,000. This event is hosted by The Honourable Frank F. Fagan, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador and Her Honour Mrs. Patricia Fagan.

The biennial award is presented by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador in partnership with the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador.

This program is generously supported with funding by