Skip to Content

2016 NLBA Judges & Sponsors Announced

The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

Under the distinguished patronage of the Honourable Frank Fagan, CM, ONL, MBA, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador


For immediate release

New Sponsors and Judges Announced for the

20th Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

(April 22, St. John’s, NL) The Literary Arts Foundation NL and the Writers’ Alliance NL are pleased to announce the sponsors for and judges of the 20th Anniversary of the Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards, this year honouring excellence in the categories of Fiction and Children’s/Young Adult Literature.

New this year for the Fiction Award are sponsors Killick Capital, Noreen Golfman, John and Jan O’Dea, and Fisher’s Loft Inn. All are members of Business and Arts Newfoundland and Labrador (BANL), a relatively new organization that facilitates long-term relationships between the private and creative sectors in Newfoundland and Labrador.

We are also most grateful to the Bruneau Family Foundation who will again be sponsoring the Children’s/Young Adult literature award which they have done since 2004.

The judges for the 2016 NLBAs comprise Linden MacIntyre, Patrick O’Flaherty, and Joan Ritcey for the 2016 NLBA Award for Fiction; Ed Kavanagh, Kevin Major, and Patricia Parsons for the 2016 Bruneau Family Children’s/Young Adult Literature Award.

Linden MacIntyre was born in Newfoundland, grew up in Cape Breton and now lives in Toronto. He worked as a journalist for fifty years, almost twenty-five years at the CBC television program, the fifth estate. He has published six books, four of them works of fiction. In 2009 his novel, The Bishop’s Man won the Scotiabank Giller Prize. A fifth novel, The Only Café, will be published in 2017 by Random House of Canada.

Patrick O’Flaherty has written extensively on Newfoundland literature and history. The first volume of his 3-vol. history of his homeland, Old Newfoundland: A History to 1843, won the Newfoundland and Labrador Writers’ Alliance Book Award for non-fiction in 2001. O’Flaherty also published Come Near at your Peril (3rd ed., 1998), a candid visitors’ guide to the island, two collections of short stories, two novels, and a memoir of childhood, Paddy Boy: Growing Up Irish in a Newfoundland Outport (Pottersfield Press). A new collection of his short stories will be published by Pottersfield in 2016.

Joan Ritcey is an academic librarian and Head of the Centre for Newfoundland Studies at Memorial University Libraries, where she is also the editor of the PAB, the index to the periodical literature of Newfoundland and Labrador. Ritcey serves on the editorial advisory board of the journal Newfoundland and Labrador Studies, The Rooms’ First World War (FWW) public advisory committee and the Historic Sites Association’s 2016 symposium committee for the 150th anniversary of the laying of the transatlantic cable at Heart’s Content.

Ed Kavanagh is a writer, actor, musician, theatre director, university lecturer, and editor.  His publications include the Amanda Greenleaf series of children’s books; ‘The Cat’s Meow: The Longside Players Selected Plays 1984-1989; and The Confessions of Nipper Mooney, which won the Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for Fiction, was a finalist for the Winterset Award, and also nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. His 2013 collection of stories, Strays, was a finalist for the NL Book Award for Fiction and the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award.

Kevin Major has published 17 books, ranging from novels to non-fiction, from poetry and plays to works for young people. He has won numerous awards, including a Governor General’s Award for his first book (now a film), Hold Fast. In 1992 he was presented with the Vicky Metcalf Award for a body of work of importance to young people. His adult titles include As Near to Heaven by Sea: A History of Newfoundland and Labrador, and No Man’s Land, a tragic take of the Newfoundland Regiment in WW1. A new novel, Found Far and Wide, is to be released in 2016.

Patricia Parsons is a retired public library administrator (NL Public Libraries) and serves on the editorial board of the NL Quarterly. She is also the current chair of the Winterset in Summer Board of Director, and assisting in the 2016-17 Festival Programs. Patricia loves bringing books and people together.

Readings by the six finalists will take place in late May in St. John’s. The announcement of the two winners will take place on June 6 at Government House.

The NL Book Awards are sponsored by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador under the distinguished patronage of The Honourable Frank Fagan, CM, ONL, MBA, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. Other sponsors this year include The Telegram, Rogers TV, Perfect Day, the CBC and the NL Teacher’s Association.


Media Contact:
Alison Dyer, Executive Director, WANL T: 1-866-739-5215

WANL Logo_Perfect Day Print