Skip to Content

2017 NLCU Fresh Fish Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2017 Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union (NLCU) Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers was announced today in St. John’s. The announcement followed the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador’s (WANL) Annual General Meeting held at The Lantern.

The award, generously sponsored by the Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union, is awarded to the best unpublished manuscript written by a resident of the province who has not published a book, or who has not had a book accepted for publication, in any genre on any platform or in any media at the time of submission. The award is intended to serve as an incentive for emerging writers in the province by providing them with financial support, recognition, and professional editing services for a book-length manuscript in any genre.

“Newfoundlanders and Labradorians are known throughout the world for their natural creativity, unique language, and knack for storytelling. It’s what we do. It’s who we are,” says Allison Chaytor-Loveys, Chief Executive Officer of the Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union (NLCU). “As a sponsor of the NLCU Fresh Fish Award we are honoured to provide the financial support to ensure the tradition flourishes by recognizing and rewarding the talented writers right here in our province.”

The winning author will receive: a cash prize of $5,200; $1,000 towards professional editing services for the winning manuscript; and a miniature replica of Man Nailed to a Fish by sculptor Jim Maunder. The runners-up will each receive $1,200. The biennial award is presented by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador (LAFNL) in partnership with WANL.

The three finalists this year are (in alphabetical order by last name):
Terry Doyle for his short story collection, We All Do
Matthew Hollett for his poetry collection, Optic Nerve
Liz Solo for her novel, Phreak

Their work was chosen from submissions of fiction and poetry. The jury members were Bridget Canning, Trudy Morgan-Cole, and Paul Rowe.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday, November 23 at Christina Parker Gallery in St. John’s. The announcement will be preceded by readings from the shortlisted authors.

To read the full Press Release click here.