Skip to Content

Previous Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

2018 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

The Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador is pleased to announce the finalists for the prestigious Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards (NLBAs). This year, the Awards honour excellence in the categories of Fiction and Children’s/Young Adult.

Finalists for the 2018 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for Fiction
Sponsored by Killick Capital:

  • BRIDGET CANNING for The Greatest Hits of Wanda Jaynes (Breakwater Books)
  • JOEL THOMAS HYNES for We’ll All Be Burnt in Our Beds Some Night (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.) 2018 WINNER
  • MARY WALSH for Crying for the Moon: A Novel (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.)

Jury Members: Matthew LeDrew, Elisabeth de Mariaffi, Sara Tilley

Finalists for the 2018 Bruneau Family Children’s/Young Adult Award

  • LORI DOODY for The Puffin Problem (Running the Goat, Books and Broadsides)
  • SHEILAH LUKINS for Full Speed Ahead: Errol’s Bell Island Adventure (Breakwater Books) 2018 WINNER
  • REBECCA NORTH for Elliot and the Impossible Fish (Breakwater Books)

Jury Members: Theresa Uchechi Ezeuko, Catherine Hogan-Safer, Susan MacDonald

2017 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award Winners

E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Patrick Warner, Octopus (Biblioasis)What the jury said about this book:“The octopus, an emblem of the mind in the work of several modernist poets, presides over this collection, an image evoking fluidity, the hidden, the strange. Octopus continues to explore territory travelled in Patrick Warner’s other works; contemporary life is reflected at times through a Swiftian lens. The satire is often phantasmagoric, with elements of dream or of a carnival funhouse. An important strain of this new book is its enquiry into the nature of lyric and of mind. Warner’s skill with image and the musical resources of poetry makes Octopus compelling technically as well as emotionally and intellectually.”

Non-Fiction Award: Jenny Higgins, Newfoundland in the First World War (Boulder Publications)What the jury said about this book:“This historical book takes a timeless subject and leaves no stone unturned in its inclusivity of data in a well researched and well organized form. The book includes additional literary material which makes it interactive and entertaining. It is unique in the sense that it is like being in a museum and touching the artifacts of the soldiers from so long ago. Newfoundland in the First World War is an educational work of art.”

E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Michael Crummey and Robin Durnford
Non-Fiction Award: John Nick Jeddore and James McLeod

2016 Newfoundland & Labrador Book Award Winners

Fiction Award: Michael Crummey, Sweetland (Doubleday Canada)What the jury said about this book:An atmospheric tale of a man who is so attached to his small island home that he decides to stay there when the whole community makes a permanent move to the mainland. Memories, isolation and hunger wear him down from reality into a haunted dream-state. Crummey effectively uses his seductive powers of plot and language, and originality of style and voice to take the reader along on Sweetland’s wanderings. Despite the strangeness, Sweetland is a very readable novel.

Bruneau Family Children’s/Young Adult Literature Award: Janet McNaughton, Flame and Ashes: The Great Fire Diary of Triffie Winsor (Scholastic)What the jury said about this book:Triffie Winsor’s diary shows not only how life can be turned upside down in the blink of an eye-but also how resilient and adaptive children are in the wake of a disaster. With meticulous research, McNaughton weaves an engaging tale of the very fabric of day to day life in St. John’s after the great fire of 1892, as the successful Winsor merchant family go from “riches to rags” overnight. Flame and Ashes, in true Dear Canada Series format, and with beautifully crafted narrative, will give all readers – young and old – poignant insight into an amazing “coming of age” story during one of the most important periods in Newfoundland history.

Fiction Award: Joan Clark and Sara Tilley
Children’s/YA Award: Charis Cotter and Susan MacDonald

2015 Newfoundland & Labrador Book Award Winners

E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Carmelita McGrath, Escape Velocity (Goose Lane Editions)
Non-Fiction Award: Andrew Peacock, Creatures of the Rock (Doubleday Canada)

E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Mary Dalton and Michael Crummey
Non-Fiction Award: Janet Merlo and Alan Doyle

2014 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award Winners

Writers’ Alliance Fiction Award: Lisa Moore, for Caught, (House of Anansi, 2013)
Bruneau Family Children’s/Young Adult Literature Award: Andy Jones, for Jack and Mary in the Land of Thieves, illustrated by Darka Erdelji(Running the Goat Books & Broadsides, 2012)