Skip to Content

Readings by the Finalists of the 21st Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards










 Readings by the Finalists of the 21st Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards

 (April 20, 2017 – St. John’s, NL) Please join us in celebrating the authors shortlisted for the 2017 Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards.

The finalists will read from their nominated books at the following public readings:

Poetry: Tuesday, April 25th at 7:30 pm, Eastern Edge Gallery, 72 Harbour Drive, St. John’s, NL. Hosted by E. J. Pratt Award jury member, Mary Dalton. Reception to follow.

Non-Fiction: Wednesday, April 26th at 7:30 pm, Suncor Energy Hall, Memorial University, St. John’s NL. Hosted by CBC’s Ted Blades. Discussion to follow.

The finalists for Non-Fiction include Jenny Higgins for Newfoundland in the First World War (Boulder Publications); John Nick Jeddore, Elder (deceased) for Moccasin Tracks: A Memoir of Mi’kmaw Life in Newfoundland (ISER Books); and James McLeod for Turmoil, As Usual: Politics in Newfoundland and Labrador and the Road to the 2015 Election (Creative Book Publishing). Sponsored by Killick Capital, Cox & Palmer, and Don Power.

The finalists for Poetry include Michael Crummey for Little Dogs: Poems Selected & New (House of Anansi); Robin Durnford for Half Rock (Gaspereau Press); and Patrick Warner for Octopus (Biblioasis).

The winning authors will be announced at a ceremony on Wednesday, May 3rd at Government House in St. John’s. The winners will receive a cash prize of $1500 and the remaining finalists will receive $500 each.

The Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards are sponsored by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador under the distinguished patronage of The Honourable Frank Fagan, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. Other sponsors this year include The Telegram, Perfect Day and the NL Teacher’s Association.

Media inquiries:

Wendi Smallwood

Interim Executive Director, WANL

709-739-5215 |