The 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards Finalists

The juries have read and debated and now have named the finalists for the 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador book awards, given this year for Non-fiction and Poetry.

The shortlist for the Newfoundland and Labrador Non-Fiction Award is comprised of three very different books—but all are first books for their authors.

 Alan Doyle for Where I Belong: From Small Town to Great Big Sea (Doubleday Canada)
Janet Merlo for No One To Tell: Breaking My Silence on Life in the RCMP (Breakwater Books)
 Andrew Peacock for Creatures of the Rock (Doubleday Canada)

Three acclaimed, accomplished Newfoundland poets are shortlisted for the E.J. Pratt Poetry Award.

Michael Crummey for Under the Keel (House of Anansi)
Mary Dalton for Hooking (Véhicule Press)
Carmelita McGrath for Escape Velocity (Goose Lane Editions)

The winners will be announced at a ceremony on May 27th at Government House. Winning authors each receive a cash prize: $1,500 for first place; each of the other shortlisted authors will receive $500.

Public readings of the shortlisted authors will be announced soon.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards are presented by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador. Only books written by residents of Newfoundland and Labrador (living in the province three of the past five years) are eligible for the award.