The 2015 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards Winners

Congratulations to all finalists of the 19TH Annual Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards for Poetry and Non-Fiction!


E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Carmelita McGrath, Escape Velocity (Goose Lane Editions)
Non-Fiction Award: Andrew Peacock, Creatures of the Rock (Doubleday Canada)


E.J. Pratt Poetry Award: Mary Dalton and Michael Crummey
Non-Fiction Award: Janet Merlo and Alan Doyle

Winning authors each received a cash prize: $1,500; runners-up each received $500.

We would like to thank our sponsors:

The Jimmy Pratt Foundation

And, thank our supporters:

The Telegram
Perfect Day
Newfoundland & Labrador Teacher’s Association


The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards are presented by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador under the distinguished patronage of The Honourable Frank Fagan, CM, ONL, MBA, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. Only books written by residents of Newfoundland and Labrador (living in the province three of the past five years) are eligible for the award.