Skip to Content

Winners of the 21st Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards Announced


Immediate Release


 (May 3, 2017 – St. John’s, NL) The Literary Arts Foundation and the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador are pleased to announce the winners of the 21st Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards, this year honouring excellence in the categories of Poetry and Non-fiction.

In a ceremony at Government House this afternoon, author Jenny Higgins was named winner of the 2017 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for Non-fiction for Newfoundland in the First World War (Boulder Publications); and poet Patrick Warner was named winner of the E. J. Pratt Award for Octopus (Biblioasis). Each winner received a cash prize of $1500. The four runners-up— John Nick Jeddore, Elder and James McLeod for Non-Fiction; and Michael Crummey and Robin Durnford for Poetry; each received $500.

Non-fiction judges Glen Carter, Marjorie Doyle, and Elaine Janes said of Newfoundland in the First World War— “Higgins’ historical book takes a timeless subject and leaves no stone unturned in its inclusivity of data in a well researched and well organized form. It is an educational work of art.”

Poetry judges Andreae Callanan, Boyd Chubbs, and Mary Dalton said of Octopus— “An important strain of this new book is its enquiry into the nature of lyric and of mind. Warner’s skill with image and the musical resources of poetry makes Octopus compelling technically as well as emotionally and intellectually.”

The NL Book Awards consider books released in the two previous years. In even-numbered years, fiction and children’s/YA literature are recognized, in alternate years; works of non-fiction and poetry are recognized.

The Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards are sponsored by the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador and administered by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador under the distinguished patronage of The Honourable Frank Fagan, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. The 2017 NL Book Awards Non-Fiction category was supported by contributions from Killick Capital, Cox & Palmer and Don Power. In kind sponsors for the 2017 Book Awards were The Telegram, Perfect Day, and NL Teachers’ Association.


Media Contact: Wendi Smallwood, WANL Executive Director

                           Tel 709-730-5215 |